Shire of Goomalling

32 Quinlan Street (PO Box 118) GOOMALLING WA 6460 P: 08 9629 1101 | E: goshire@goomalling.wa.gov.au



PUBLIC NOTICE

2021 LOCAL GOVERNMENT ELECTON RESULTS

The 2021 Local Government Election for the Shire of Goomalling was held on the 16th October 2021 as a voting in person election. Early voting was in place for about a month prior to the date and electors could also place their votes on the day.

65 people took the opportunity to vote early with a further 68 cast on the day and one absent vote was received. There was a total of 681 voters who were eligible to vote with only 134 actually taking the opportunity to do so, which is only 19.67% of the electorate. This is an extremely low turnout as at the previous election 30.6% of electors voted which was considered low at the time.

The result of the election was as follows;

Candidate	Total votes	Result
Julie Chester	121 Votes	Elected term expires 18
		October 2025
Mark Ashton	111 Votes	Elected term expires 18
		October 2025
Chrissie Barratt	93 Votes	Elected term expires 18
		October 2025
Graham Chester	71 Votes	

Congratulations to our three new councillors and commiserations to Graham, it was a very close result with a worthy field of candidates. Our thanks to Rod Sheen for his many years of service to the Shire and we wish him well in his semi-retirement from Council duties.

Councillors were sworn in on 20 October 2021 and the Council elected Cr Barry Haywood as President and Cr Julie Chester as Deputy President.

PETER BENTLEY CHIEF EXECUTIVE OFFICER

21 October 2021

REF: PN21009